Sunday, June 21, 2009

Bees, Unemployment and Costco


Happy Solstice!

Here's today's picture. I took this last spring... it's a pissed off bumble bee that wasn't too happy about posing for a picture for me. I was glad that he did stop to pose, though. Kinda a cool picture if ya ask me. :)

So yeah, I'm already bitchin about Monday. Mondays suck... I've always thought so, but I'm even more convinced of it with my current job. I love my job - don't get me wrong, but Mondays are the super-hell days of a hell job. Working with unemployed people sucks. The people don't suck.. their situations do. I can't imagine what it would be like to try to live on UI... I'd be pissed off, too. Fortunately, I can usually help people, but when they don't have enough money built up to open a UI claim, that sucks.... or maybe they've exhausted and can't even try to file again until May of 2010. I've learned a lot of empathy. Especially on Mondays. Mondays suck. Ever heard a grown man cry because he didn't have enough money to buy his graduating daughter a gift? I have. It sucks. How about the kid who busted his ass in the police academy, only to find out the day before graduation that "you don't meet our standards... gtfo". Seen it. Of course, there are the ones trying to cheat the system... but they call every day - not just Mondays. I wish I could do something to help the non-cheaters, though. Sometimes, it just sounds like they need a hug.

I love my job. I hate Mondays.

I didn't find anything cool to post today. No freebies that caught my eye, no recipes. OH... I go to Costco today... I was thrilled when I found blue-cheese burgers on clearance. Sure, the sell by date is the 23rd, but I thought I could bring them home and freeze them... as today is the 21st. Logical? Yes. Reality. No. Oh nooooo not the case at all! Instead, these bitches are HAIRY! Jeeze! I was ready to come home and cook one and ripped the package open and there THAT was! Even on sale, it shouldn't be able to walk out of the store on its own, eh!?

Saturday, June 20, 2009

Hm... Now What?


Thanks for checking out my blog. After spending the last year or two "blogging" on FB/MS, I thought I might actually try to create a personal blog... after all, everyone I know is in my FB, including my mother - and quite frankly, I'm not afraid to use the F word, nor any of the lesser evil swear words, and do so quite frequently.

Here's a picture of a bear we saw a few weeks ago. I've only seen 3 this spring... so far. Did I mention that I live in Alaska? If not, I do. I love it. I'll talk about it a lot. I also love to take pictures as often as I can.

When I decided to sign up for a blog, I couldn't decide on what topic I wanted my blog to focus on - but it occured to me that my life is not made up of one theme, my blog doesn't need to be tied to one theme, either. So - my little blog here is going to be about anything that's of interest to me. Some of it may not be appropriate for some (kids, teenagers, my mother, etc...), but I suspect that what's actually going to happen is that I'll lose interest (or just forget about the existence of the blog) anyway. I hope not - but whatev.

If you've made it this far... cool! Thanx! If not, eh. You're not reading this anyway, so nevermind.

I found this cool blog while Stumbling today - it may prove to be useful. Maybe not. I like getting samples & stuff in the mail, so if anyone knows of other sample sites (that are legitimate and not a link/virus farm) please let me know~!

www.txt2day.com - Send Free SMS Text I also found a site that lets you send SMS messages for free. Kinda cool for me since my cell service doesn't always connect with every other cellular provider with text messages.